Dan Hanosh’s The Moon Also Rises
dreams to come and thoughts of tomorrow

I am thankful . . .

I am thankful

I am thankful
for the fishes that swim in the seas
and for the lakes and for the streams

I am thankful
for the trees that keeps the blistering
sun off our shoulders

I am thankful
for the wind that cools our faces
on the coldest winter’s day

I am thankful
for the sunshine that thaws our lands
and warms our hands and keeps us fed

I am thankful
for love . . . and friendship how it has made our
world a little more endearing

I am thankful
for that which our children have given . . . for
a world without probably would have died long ago

I am thankful
for our homes they protect us against the evil
that walks a path different from our own

I am thankful
for the light in which we labor
and for the night which embraces our souls

I am thankful
for good health and the intellect to know
when our time is about up

I am thankful
for the view outside my window and the cardinal perching
hidden in a pine with its crimson coat shining

I am thankful
for the autumn harvest it reminds me of those
who have toiled and died long ago

I am thankful
for the air we breathe
but especially

I am thankful
for the time I have to write for that
is truly . . . ALL IMPORTANT to me.

Dan Hanosh
Dreams are yours to Share

My Books:
      Just Released . . . Sleepless Nights, AuthorHouse, 2007
           A continuation of The World . . . through a poets eyes.


     
      The World Outside My Window, AuthorHouse, 2004

Links: Dreams Are Yours To Share
Warriors and Wars
The Moon Also Rises
Dan’s Room 2 Write

Copyright © 2007 by Dan Hanosh. All rights reserved.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

One Response to “I am thankful . . .”

  1. I appreciate the entirety of this poem, but this bit spoke to me loudly…

    “I am thankful
    for the view outside my window and the cardinal perching
    hidden in a pine with its crimson coat shining

    I am thankful
    for the autumn harvest it reminds me of those
    who have toiled and died long ago…”

    I share a similar view… of my landscape (i.e. cardinals and pine trees), and of the world (i.e. gratitude).

    Beautifully done.

    *Sparky*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

