Dan Hanosh’s The Moon Also Rises
dreams to come and thoughts of tomorrow

The Summer Of My Youth

My used shinny silver bike,
fenders glimmering, shimmering in the sun,
the book rack usually held my basketball,
the bike light never worked from day one,

I always cared for that bike,
it was a symbol of my freedom,
freedom from the house and the
four walls of my bedroom,

I remember those days as the wind blew
in our faces, we rode hard and furious
to our interlude with destiny and
the rest of our lives,

That first day was like any other,
hot and oh so muggy, a great
day to be fifteen and free
of all worldly burdens,

All that mattered to us,
was riding, riding like the wind,
past the open door of the factory,
where workers looked out and waved,

I remember hitting the loose gravel,
going down, falling and the pain, though
nothing would spoil our freedom,
we went on, bleeding all the way,

Across the railroad tracks, stopping
for a car, now, away we road, past the
cement company, to the fishing pier,
where I spent the summer of my youth.

Dan Hanosh
Dreams are yours to Share

My Books: The World Outside My Window, AuthorHouse, 2004

Soon to come, Sleepless Nights

Links: Dreams Are Yours To Share
Warriors and Wars
The Moon Also Rises
This Side Of Midnight
The World Outside My Window
Dan Hanosh poemhunter.com
Dan’s Room 2 Write

Copyright © 2007 by Dan Hanosh. All rights reserved.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

No Responses to “The Summer Of My Youth”

Leave a Reply

