Dan Hanosh’s The Moon Also Rises
dreams to come and thoughts of tomorrow

Why Write Poetry . . .

. . .

Today I thought I would do something different. I wanted to spread a message, a thought. I read poetry and I write it because it’s the heart of a write, his soul put to paper. It’s the life blood of great literature. Without it those works just would not be.

I wonder how many readers, know this? So many have told me they don’t read poetry . . . They must not understand or they simply don’t read? I can’t imagine not reading, not for a moment.

Each and every great novelist was a poet first. Hemingway, Poe, you name them and somewhere they wrote prose at sometime. They learned the magic of words, making them sing.

I find that I don’t love all poetry or all poets . . . But I read them as though I’m searching for a gem and I find ones I love. Somehow they have weathered all time and reached out to me . . . Dreams are yours to share. Dan

By William Blake

And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England’s mountains green?
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England’s pleasant pastures seen?

And did the Countenance Divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among those dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear! O clouds, unfold!
Bring me my chariot of fire!

I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England’s green and pleasant land.

Dan Hanosh
Dreams are yours to Share

AT Dream Training
Day        68          
Current Miles/Day (20 M/D)         5.6
Total Miles . . . . . .                   284.4
Average Miles  . . .                       N/A
Weight Loss (100 lbs). .             19 lbs
     ( ) . . . My Goals       Go to Trail Journals


My Books:
      Just Released . . . Sleepless Nights, AuthorHouse, 2007
           A continuation of The World . . . through a poets eyes.


     
      The World Outside My Window, AuthorHouse, 2004

My Mission . . . Dreams are yours to share is dedicated to DREAMS, learning to dream again, learning to be happy again. Everyday we are bombarded with unhappiness, news of wars, killings, lies and deceit. And no where can we go to balance the load . . . My message is simple, change only happens when we change. Happiness is contagious and it stops wars dead . . . Find you bliss, follow your dreams, live a life with no regrets . . . Dreams are Yours to share.

Links: Dreams Are Yours To Share
Warriors and Wars
The Moon Also Rises
This Side Of Midnight
The World Outside My Window
Dan Hanosh poemhunter.com
Dan’s Room 2 Write

Copyright © 2007 by Dan Hanosh. All rights reserved.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

One Response to “Why Write Poetry . . .”

  1. Yes, words are wondrous things, amazing to me, if they are
    arranged just right, they don’t have to rhyme to fulfill their
    destiny…It is just a wonder, when they fall easily onto the page,
    sometimes when I write the words fall like tears onto the page,
    other times it’s like dragging an elephant uphill while I’m
    wearing rollerskates…I wonder what type is best, the easy or the
    hard…Perhaps their the same animal, one is already grown and fully formed for the whiten page, while the other is still forming in the nest, who knows…
    I like words and phases that have a slight twist to them, using a different word instead of the common one, just to see if anyone catches on, for you see, a duck can also be called a quacker, and I could have some in my soup…
    You may have visited my site and viewed some of my “POEMS”, I can’t call them that, it’s too limp wristed a term for me, lets just call them sentences that rhyme (most of the time badly)….If you should perchance to be in a dream and be passing by, read “WORDS” posted in July, you’ll see what I mean…till we meet again the black void of Blogland………………on a side note,
    this grey box ‘sucks’ i can’t see where i’m typing……..:-)


Leave a Reply

